Connect with us


Bill Long Recognized by Northwood University

Long has been named among Northwood University’s 2022 class of Outstanding Business Leaders.


Northwood University and the Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA) are proud to announce Bill Long, president and CEO, MEMA, is among the 2022 class of Outstanding Business Leaders.


The Outstanding Business Leader Award honors men and women from across the world who have made a difference in their business and community.

Long, who has more than 40 years of experience in all sectors of the automotive industry, came to MEMA at a critical time. Vehicle suppliers were witnessing some of the greatest technological innovations in history while navigating significant regulatory mandates, workforce shortages, tariffs and border adjustment taxes, and a new North American trade agreement. Through Long’s leadership, vehicle suppliers were deemed essential during the pandemic and MEMA gained a vital seat at the table with government policymakers and has emerged as a powerful voice in the national conversation on the issues affecting its 1,000 member companies. 


Northwood University annually recognizes a select group of business professionals for their achievements, support and exemplary leadership of the communities in which they live and work. These individuals serve as role models for Northwood University students as they share their experiences and obstacles they have encountered, in addition to how they overcame them while on the road to success. 

Northwood University bestows the tremendous honor of the Outstanding Business Leader Award over a multi-day celebration ending with a formal gala event where the members will receive an engraved crystal recognizing their honor. 

The 2022 gala will be held Saturday, April 23, at The Henry Ford Museum, 20900 Oakwood Boulevard, Dearborn, Michigan. 

2022 Class of honorees include:  

• Jim Fitterling, Chairman and CEO, Dow 

• Michael LaFontaine Sr., President, LaFontaine Automotive Group 

• Ben Manthei, Managing Partner, Redi-Rock International 

• Lisa McClain, Congresswoman (MI-10) 

• Andra Rush, CEO, Dakkota Systems 

• Angela Steele, Publicis Groupe 

Additionally, Manik Thapar, owner of Eco Wise Waste Management, will be honored with the Richard M. DeVos Young Entrepreneur Award. 

In the four decades since the program began, more than 300 business leaders from more than 30 states and several countries, have been recognized. These honorees represent a vast, diverse, group of people from dozens of industries and fields of business expertise. 


The Outstanding Business Leader Awards are presented by the Northwood University Board of Trustees. Each awardee is selected on the basis of personal achievements which typify the unique philosophy of Northwood University. Criteria used in the selection of awardees include a contribution to the philosophy of private enterprise, support of the integration of business and the arts, contribution to education, economic innovation, creative marketing ideas, community involvement, religious leadership, philanthropic contributions, as well as business success. All honorees past and present serve as role models for Northwood University students.  

For more information about the Outstanding Business Leaders event, including lodging, call Jessica Hufford at 989-837-4465 or email [email protected]. To see event details, please visit



Sponsored Content

Warn Your Customers About Water Pump Failure During the Summer