AkzoNobel Announces Supervisory Board Changes - aftermarketNews

AkzoNobel Announces Supervisory Board Changes

Current Chairman Karel Vuursteen will retire from the board, having completed three terms of office since joining the board in 2002. He became chairman in 2009.

THE NETHERLANDS – The supervisory board of AkzoNobel N.V. has announced changes to its membership, which will be proposed for adoption at the company’s annual general meeting (AGM) of shareholders on April 29.
Current Chairman Karel Vuursteen will retire from the board, having completed three terms of office since joining the board in 2002. He became chairman in 2009.
Antony Burgmans will be put forward for re-appointment after reaching the end of his second term at this year’s AGM. Following such re-appointment, the supervisory board intends to elect Burgmans as chairman to succeed Vuursteen.
Louis Hughes also will reach the end of his second term this year and will be nominated for re-appointment. Sir Peter Ellwood will step down at the AGM after six years on the board.
Vuursteen commented: "On behalf of my colleagues I would like to thank Sir Peter for the valuable contribution he has made to the good governance and smooth running of the company over the last six years."
In his place, the Board is putting forward Byron Grote for appointment. Grote brings with him extensive experience of complex multinational environments as well as deep financial expertise, having been a member of the board of BP plc from 2000 to 2013, during which time he headed the petrochemicals business before becoming CFO. Grote currently holds the role of non-executive director at Unilever, chairing the audit committee, and also is a non-executive director at Anglo-American plc.
Following the proposed changes, the supervisory board will have eight members instead of the current nine.

You May Also Like

Lucas Oil Promotes, Adds Key Staff to Leadership Team

Jason Bonikowske has been named general counsel, and Nicole York and Megan Burakiewicz have been promoted to VP roles.

Lucas Oil Products has announced three new additions to its leadership team, hiring Jason Bonikowske as general counsel and promoting Nicole York to vice president of finance and Megan Burakiewicz to vice president of human resources.

Prior to joining Lucas Oil, Bonikowske spent 16 years at CSM Sport and Entertainment (formerly JMI), where he oversaw the legal operations, developed internal governance policies, advised executives on risk mitigation, and routinely negotiated high-quality sport and entertainment agreements. 

Clarios Names New Group VP and GM, Original Equipment

Federico Morales-Zimmermann joins Clarios from BorgWarner, where he served in two VP roles.

Edelbrock’s Smitty Smith Passes Away

According to a blog post from Edelbrock, Smitty worked for the company for 30 years and had been using its products for 50.

Navistar Names Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer

Tobias Glitterstam will be the steward for strategy implementation and he will accelerate sustainability efforts.

FullSpeed Automotive Names VP of Ops for Grease Monkey Brand

Brian Michel steps into this leadership role having worked for FullSpeed for 10 years.

Other Posts

NuVinAir Promotes Marty Schoenthaler to President

Schoenthaler joined NuVinAir from Tate Boys Tire & Service in 2021.

Velocity Modern Classics Names Chief Revenue Officer

Tom Maxwell joins the company with over seven years of experience in the custom vehicle space.

MEMA Names New DEI Head, Renews DEI Focus

April Buford will help provide a roadmap to assist members in engaging in their own DEI journey.

MEMA Names Executive Director of Strategy and Research

Mike Jackson’s expanded role will support all segments of MEMA, including the OE, aftermarket, remanufacturing, commercial vehicle and government affairs.