SEMA Hall Of Fame Names 3 New Members

SEMA Hall Of Fame Names 3 New Members

The new inductees represent an accomplished group of leaders who have shaped and inspired the automotive specialty-equipment market.

Donnie Eatherly, Ed Pink and Chris Thomson will receive the specialty-equipment industry’s highest honor and will be inducted into the SEMA Hall of Fame.

The new members will be recognized as part of the festivities during the SEMA Installation Gala on Friday, July 20, at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City in Los Angeles. They represent an accomplished group of leaders who have shaped and inspired the automotive specialty-equipment market.

Donnie Eatherly: The automotive specialty equipment industry has a unique distribution channel, with products moving from manufacturer to distributor to jobber/retailer. Equally unique is Eatherly’s career. From sales; inventory management; marketing; and managing capital, resources and people, Eatherly has worked in all areas of the industry and has a broad perspective of every aspect involved. He, along with his father, founded one of the first and longest-running speed shops in the mid-Tennessee area. His unique experience has helped him to effectively champion many important industry initiatives, including youth engagement, legislative involvement, data standardization and vehicle technology. He is among the industry’s more active volunteers, having served on the SEMA board of directors, SEMA political action committee, and various SEMA councils and task forces.

Ed Pink: For more than 60 years, Ed Pink Racing Engines has helped legendary racers set records and win championships. And while that alone is reason to honor “The Old Master,” it’s his dedication, innovation and contribution to the industry that sets him apart. Like many in the industry, Pink’s first job was at a gas station, which led to a career working alongside industry pioneers such as Lou Baney, Ed Iskendarian and the Edelbrock family. He opened his first shop in 1957 and built engines used in virtually every avenue of motorsports, including drag racing, midgets, stock cars, Indy cars and even IMSA, Le Mans and the Baja 1000. Although Pink sold his original business about 10 years ago, he continues to consult and actively supports programs such as the SEMA Scholarship Foundation. He is a member of the Motorsports Hall of Fame in Detroit, Don Garlits International Drag Racing Hall of Fame and the Super Stock Hall of Fame.

Chris Thomson: Before joining TMG Group earlier this year, Thomson worked at leading industry brands, including Baer Brakes Systems, Airaid/K&N Filter Co., Holley Performance Products and FlowTech Exhaust Co. For more than 40 years, he held executive positions in those organizations and played a key role in the companies’ successes. However, it is his selfless dedication to the industry as a whole that makes him stand out from others. Having served numerous times on the SEMA board of directors, as well as on several councils, committees and task forces, Thomson is often described as a “mentor” and an “advocate.” He is at the forefront of every key industry initiative, and he champions others to get involved. Thomson was honored in 2006 as the PWA Person of the Year, the same year that the company he worked for, Airaid Filter Co., received the PWA Manufacturer of the Year award.

For additional details about the SEMA Hall of Fame and the inductees over the years, visit For more information about the SEMA Installation Gala, visit

You May Also Like

Auto Care Association Forms New Sustainability Committee

The inaugural Sustainability Committee meeting will take place at Spring Leadership Days on Thursday, May 25.

The Auto Care Association has announced the formation of a new advisory committee focusing on environmental sustainability in the auto care industry. The new Sustainability Committee aims to increase awareness of the importance of sustainability, create a long-term strategy to initiate evolution in the industry’s practices and highlight businesses that implement those practices.In its initial phase, the Sustainability Committee will focus on four strategic areas: 

MEMA’s New Branding Earns Industry Association Award

The association says the new brand architecture and website align with its future-forward business strategy.

MEMA Supports FTC Decision to Grant 5.9 GHz Band Waiver 

Association says move would allow for wider utilization of connected vehicle technologies.

MEMA Creates Heavy-Duty eCommerce Committee

New committee will advance use of data standards and best practices in the heavy-duty aftermarket.

Dana, TruckPro Honored with MEMA Channel Excellence Award 

Presented by Epicor, the award recognizes innovation and collaboration between suppliers and channel partners.

Other Posts

K&N Receives SEMA Data Excellence Award, Platinum Ranking

The honor also was earned by the other performance brands in the K&N family – AEM, Airaid and Spectre.

SEMA Product-Pitching Competition Premieres on Television

SEMA Launch Pad highlights new automotive aftermarket products and supports entrepreneurs’ innovation, grit, and tenacity.

Registration Open for MEMA CV Pulse Webinar

The April 26 webinar will be presented by Jonathan Starks, CEO, FTR, and Richard Anderson, senior director, research & analysis, MEMA.

Speaker Slate, Programming Announced for 2023 WIN Conference

Under the theme of “Reimagining Tomorrow,” the event will take place May 1-3 in San Antonio, Texas.