Plenty of Star Power During IMS Centennial Gala - aftermarketNews

Plenty of Star Power During IMS Centennial Gala

Twenty-seven Indy 500 champs gather to celebrate 100 years at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

INDIANAPOLIS – Nineteen of the 27 living Indianapolis 500 winners attended the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Centennial Era Gala on Friday, Feb. 27 at the Indiana Convention Center: Mario Andretti, Kenny Brack, Eddie Cheever Jr., Gil de Ferran, Scott Dixon, A.J. Foyt, Dario Franchitti, Gordon Johncock, Parnelli Jones, Buddy Lazier, Arie Luyendyk, Rick Mears, Bobby Rahal, Jim Rathmann, Johnny Rutherford, Tom Sneva, Al Unser, Al Unser Jr. and Bobby Unser.

Those champions combined during their careers at Indianapolis to write major portions of the “500” record book, including 35 victories, 29 poles, 312 starts and 5,050 laps led.

1997 Allstate 400 at the Brickyard winner Ricky Rudd also attended, while multiple Allstate 400 at the Brickyard winners Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart participated in Gala festivities via satellite from Las Vegas, where they were racing in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event.

Other Indianapolis 500 veterans attending the Gala included Janet Guthrie, Sarah Fisher, Lyn St. James, Bill Puterbaugh, A.J. Foyt IV, Ed Carpenter, Ryan Briscoe and Will Power.

A variety of team and racing officials also joined the festivities, including Pat Patrick, Jim McGee, Tim Cindric of Penske Racing, Scott Roembke of Rahal Letterman Racing, Kim Green and Kevin Savoree of Andretti Green Racing, and Al Speyer of Firestone Racing.

The IMS Radio Network community also was well represented, with all living “Voices of the 500” in attendance – Paul Page, Bob Jenkins and Mike King. But Jenkins, who served as Gala master of ceremonies, noted after introducing legendary IMS Public Address Announcer Tom Carnegie that Carnegie “always will be the real Voice of the ‘500.’”

Other VIP’s at the Gala included artist Thomas Kinkade, Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard and famed racing beauty queen Linda Vaughn.

All Gala attendees had the opportunity for a picture taken with the Wheeler-Schebler Trophy, presented to the winners of the main auto races in 1909 and 1910 at IMS, which preceded the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911.

You May Also Like

Auto Care’s Hanvey Featured in Northwood Speaker Series

The event, part of the Northwood University speaker series, is slated for Feb. 1 at its Midland, MI, campus.

The head of the Auto Care Association, Bill Hanvey, will be the next c-suite leader to be featured in Northwood University’s Leadership Insights: A View from the Helm speaker series.

The February 1, 2023 event will kick off at 6:30 p.m. at the McNair Center for Entrepreneurship and Free Enterprise, located in the Robert W. Plaster Free Enterprise Center at Northwood University in Midland. 

AWE Launches

The new site uses AWE’s newly converted ACES and PIES data to ensure fitment compliance and easy importing.

Atturo Tire Corp Renews Partnership With Abd Motorsports

Deal renewed with ‘ULTRA4’ and ‘King of the hammers’ driver Edwin Abd.

Akebono Releases Euro and Performance Disc Brake Pad Kits

Akebono says the ultra-premium kits increase coverage by more than 640,000 vehicles.

Dayco Offers Supercharger Belt Used by NMCA Champ

The same belt used by NMCA champion Chuck Watson on his factory super car is now available for purchase.

Other Posts

Radford Racing, Petersen Auto. Museum Collab on Rally Event

After a ride from the Petersen in LA, participants will enjoy an immersive track experience at Radford Racing School.

VIPAR H-D to Sponsor Northwood Students at HDAW 

Students will learn about career opportunities in the heavy-duty aftermarket industry.

Meguiar’s to be Presenting Sponsor for FCCS

The Future Collector Car Show will be held on Jan. 22 during Barrett-Jackson’s 2023 Scottsdale Auction.

AAM Group to Host Engine Performance Expo

Two-day event will stream live, interactive education for the performance engine industry.