SEMA Board of Directors' Election Results Announced - aftermarketNews

SEMA Board of Directors’ Election Results Announced

The results of the Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) board of directors election are final. SEMA, has elected three newcomers and re-elected seven incumbents into office on its board of directors.

DIAMOND BAR, Calif. — The results of the Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) board of directors election are final. SEMA, has elected three newcomers and re-elected seven incumbents into office on its board of directors.

Corky Coker, president of Coker Tire Co. Inc., Chattanooga, Tenn., and chairman of SEMA, officiated at the association’s annual Installation Banquet, which took place on Friday, July 30, at the Ritz-Carlton Huntington Hotel and Spa in Pasadena, Calif. This marks Coker’s second year of his first term as chairman of SEMA.

New to the SEMA board representing the manufacturers category is Dick Hill of Centerforce Clutches in Prescott, Ariz. Hill brings 35 years of automotive industry experience to the SEMA board and has served on several SEMA committees. He has been honored with various industry awards, including the PWA 1998 Person of the Year.

Re-elected incumbents to the SEMA Board of Directors in the manufacturers category are Matt Agosta, president of Steele Rubber Products, Denver, N.C.; Jim Cozzie, vice president, sales, for B&M Racing and Performance Products, Telford, Pa.; Rick Rollins, national sales/marketing manager for Superchips Inc., Sanford, Fla.; and Russell Stephens, sales manager for MSD Ignition, El Paso, Texas.

Ralph Accinno, owner and president of Racers Equipment, East Providence, R.I., will serve as the newest member of the distributor/retailer category on the SEMA board. Accino is no stranger to the SEMA board, having previously served on the board for three terms as well as numerous SEMA committees.

Re-elected incumbents continuing on the board from the distributor/retailer category are Kathy Bybee-Hartzell, business development manager for, Virginia Beach, Va.; Patrick Judge, executive vice president of Keystone Automotive Operations Inc., Exeter, Pa.; and Jon Wyly, vice president of Arrow Speed Warehouse, Kansas City, Kan.

Winning the one open seat on the board in the manufacturers rep category is Steve Swanson, vice president of sales for Foster-Babcock & Associates, Kansas City, Mo. With 32 years of experience in the automotive industry, Swanson has served on the SEMA Representative of the Year Committee as both committee member and chairman in a manufacturing capacity, and presently holds a seat on the Manufacturers Representative Select Committee. Swanson’s agency, Foster-Babcock & Associates, also received the SEMA Manufacturers Rep of the Year Award in 2000.

Directors continuing on the SEMA Board are Joel Ayres, sales and marketing manager for Leer/Truck Accessories Group, Woodland, Calif.; Paul “Scooter” Brothers, director of research and development for Competition Cams, Memphis, Tenn.; Dennis Gage, president of Bradley David Productions, Evansville, Ind., and host of the TV show My Classic Car; Todd Gartshore, co-owner of Baer Inc., Phoenix, Ariz.; W.A. “Butch” Lahmann, CEO of Walcorp Inc., Northport, N.Y.; Chuck Lombardo, president of California Street Rods Inc., Huntington Beach, Calif.; Dennis Overholser, vice president of product development for Painless Performance, Fort Worth, Texas; Bill Perry, president of Bill Perry & Associates, Carrollton, Ga.; Robert Price, CEO of Reliable Automotive, Overland Park, Kan.; Anne Thomas, owner and president of SECO Performance Centers, Birmingham, Ala.; Bob West, vice president of sales and marketing for Westin Automotive Products Inc., Irwindale, Calif.; and Jeep Worthan, vice president of sales and marketing for Auto Meter Products Inc., Sycamore, Ill.

Mitch Williams, founder of Vehicle Performance Systems, Inc. of Peachtree, Ga., and national sales development manager of Ansa Automotive Parts Distributors in Macon, Ga., returns as chairman-elect. He will be installed as the chairman in 2005. Williams, a member of the SEMA board’s Executive Committee, was honored as SEMA Person of the Year in 2001 and has served on SEMA task forces including Lighting, Congressional, International and OEM (original equipment manufacturer) Relations. Williams authored the 2002 SEMA report “Introduction to Quality Systems” about implementing Quality Systems.

Doug Mergenthaler, CEO of Kodiak Products, Seattle, Wash., continues on the SEMA Board of Directors as treasurer.

Christopher J. Kersting, CAE, is president and CEO of SEMA.

To honor and celebrate individuals who have supported the development and growth of the specialty equipment industry, SEMA developed the SEMA Hall of Fame in 1969. However, the honor was originally named the Paul Schiefer “Old Timer’s” Memorial Award in honor of the award’s first recipient, Paul Schiefer. The award came to be known as the SEMA Hall of Fame in 1986 and new inductees are introduced each year at the SEMA Installation Banquet.

This year’s SEMA Installation Banquet was held Friday, July 30, at the Ritz-Carlton Huntington Hotel and Spa in Pasadena, Calif. The 2004 inductees – Bob Keller of Turbonetics Inc., Simi Valley, Calif.; John Simmons of SECO Performance Centers, Birmingham, Ala.; Charlie Van Cleve of Hedman/TD Performance, Cerritos, Calif., and Jim Wirth of Wirth & Wirth Advertising, Xenia, Ohio – were honored during the gala.


Click here to view the rest of today’s headlines.

You May Also Like

Maryland Teamsters Call for Passage of HB 1447

The legislation would protect middle-class jobs and motorist safety, according to the International Brotherhood of Teamsters.

Maryland Teamsters Call for Passage of HB 1447

Members of Teamsters Locals 570, 639, and 922 testified before the Maryland House of Delegates to call for the passage of House Bill 1447 (HB 1447), legislation that would require a human operator in large commercial vehicles. Similar legislation has been introduced in California, Iowa, Indiana, and New York this year.

Beyond the safety aspect, the legislation would protect middle-class jobs, according to the International Brotherhood of Teamsters.

$78B Pro-Business Tax Bill Passes House, Awaits Senate

The bill aims to reinstate tax incentives for R&D and small business investments, along with other measures.

MANN+HUMMEL NA Aftermarket Shows Right to Repair Support

Representatives from MANN+HUMMEL’s North American aftermarket brands recently visited Capitol Hill to express their support for H.R. 906.

MEMA Issues Statement on Tax Relief for Working Families Act

This measure contains the restoration of one year deductibility of research and development expenses, a key legislative priority for the association.

SEMA Urges Members to Support Tax Relief Bill

The Tax Relief for American Families and Workers Act of 2024 benefits specialty automotive aftermarket businesses, according to SEMA.

SEMA Action Network

Other Posts

ASA Endorses Bipartisan Tax Framework

The Automotive Service Association says the legislation is beneficial for independent automotive repair businesses.

Industry Partners Urge Congress to Pass R&D Deductibility Fix

“Congress must restore this tax provision to enhance U.S. competitiveness, job creation and innovation as soon as possible,” said Ann Wilson, MEMA’s executive vice president of government affairs.

Legislators Challenge Vehicle Data Access ‘Double Standard’

Rep. Marie Gluesenkamp Pérez joined other legislators in sending a letter to NHTSA about proposed guidance for implementing the Massachusetts Right to Repair law.

House Passes Bill to Stop EPA Emissions Mandate

The U.S. House passed the “Choice in Automobile Retail Sales (CARS) Act” (H.R. 4468) with bipartisan support.

Opposition Grows for California’s Mandate Banning New Gas-Powered Vehicle Sales