Piston Foundation Awards 10 Scholarships to Auto Restoration Students

Piston Foundation Creates Fund for Auto Restoration Students 

This year, 10 scholarships were given in the name of Frank Buonanno, the founder of Black Horse Garage in Bridgeport, CT.

The Piston Foundation, a 501(c)(3) public charity launched in January 2021, has awarded 10 Piston Fund scholarships to its inaugural class of 2022-23 Piston Scholars.

The Piston Foundation is a national public charity that was created to provide post-secondary educational opportunities and funding to students interested in pursuing hands-on careers in the collector car industry.

“Because of the generous gifts of our donors in the car enthusiast community, these students will be able to pursue their dreams and build careers as collector car technicians and restoration specialists,” said Robert Minnick, founder and CEO of The Piston Foundation.

“We have worked hard to reach this point after only a year and a half since our launch. Our team is very proud to be awarding our first 10 scholarships. As we continue with our mission, we look forward to presenting many more scholarships in the future.”

Three of the 10 awards were given in the name of Frank Buonanno, the founder of Black Horse Garage in Bridgeport, Connecticut, under the aegis of the Frank Buonanno Scholarship Fund, which was created by the Foundation and John Buonanno to honor John’s father.

Black Horse Garage’s Frank Buonanno shares his skills with the next generation. (Christopher McNeil Photography image)

The 10 inaugural awardees come from across the U.S. and were selected on the basis of their demonstrated interests in a skilled trade career in collector car restoration and their related experiences, as communicated through their applications, personal statements, and video essays. Their academic records, letters of recommendation, and financial needs also contributed to the selection.

Each awardee will receive up to $5,000 for an academic year. Awards are for undergraduate study only and each awardee may receive a scholarship up to two times.

The scholarship committee responsible for reviewing applications and awarding scholarships is made up of Piston Foundation leadership, select Foundation advisors, and industry partners.

Here is the list of the 2022-23 inaugural recipients of the Piston Fund Scholarships:

  • Edwin John Buiter, Sophomore, McPherson College
  • Victoria Bruno, Senior, McPherson College
  • Zoe Carmichael, Junior, McPherson College
  • Jasper A. Fedders, Junior, McPherson College
  • Ethan Bradford Heck, Freshman, Lanier Technical College
  • Jacob Koehn, Junior, McPherson College
  • Dryden Lee Powell, Junior, McPherson College
  • Joseph Scheidel, Freshman, McPherson College
  • Joshua Jay Warner, Freshman, McPherson College
  • Sean Gandy Whetstone, Junior, McPherson College

Additional information on the students may be found here.

You May Also Like

Art Fisher Memorial Scholarships Accepted until March 31

In memory of the late founder of Federated Auto Parts, 13 scholarships will be awarded to students preparing for automotive aftermarket careers.

ASE Education Foundation Partners on 10 Training Scholarships

Federated announced the application deadline for the Art Fisher Memorial Scholarships, March 31, is fast approaching. Thirteen scholarships for the 2024-25 academic year will be awarded to students preparing for automotive aftermarket careers in memory of the late founder of Federated Auto Parts.

Administered by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation (UAF), the Art Fisher Memorial Scholarships are awarded to students attending a two- or four-year accredited college, an ASE certified post-secondary automotive, heavy-duty or collision technician training program or any licensed and accredited vocational school. Students graduating from high school in 2024 and heading to any of these post-secondary programs are also eligible.

NexaMotion Group Supports UAF as New Lifetime Trustee

Neil Sethi, president and CEO of Transtar Holding Company, will represent NexaMotion Group on the UAF board of trustees.

NexaMotion Group Supports UAF as New Lifetime Trustee
WIN’s 2024 Scholarship Program Now Open

WIN has joined forces with CREF to expand its scholarship reach and increase application opportunities.

WIN’s 2024 Scholarship Program Now Open
CAWA Accepting Applications for MPA Scholarship Awards

The deadline for submitting applications for the MPA Selwyn Joffe Awards is May 31.

UAF Auto, Heavy-Duty Scholarship Deadline is March 31

Hundreds of scholarships, including those for service and repair, engineering, supply chain, finance and IT/cybersecurity fields of study, will be awarded for the 2024-25 academic year.

UAF Scholarship Deadline Fast Approaching
Other Posts
YANG Announces Leadership 2.0 Scholarship Recipient

Kendra Mitchell will represent YANG at the University of the Aftermarket’s 2024-2025 Leadership 2.0 Program.

Mitchell 1 Scholarship Applications Being Accepted Now

High school seniors and college students in the U.S. and Canada can apply for the scholarship through March 31.

ASE Education Foundation Partners on 10 Training Scholarships
HDA Truck Pride Awards Scholarships to Northwood Students

The scholarships are part of an endowment fund in memory of industry leaders Pete Bley and Jim Burke, Sr.

CAWA Accepting Applications for Scholarship Awards
WAI & UAF Announce Bill Ernst Memorial Scholarship

Bill Ernst, the scholarship’s namesake, was a long-time WAI employee, known for his dedication to the industry.

WAI Global Ernst Scholarship UAF