MERA Elects New Board Members And Officers

MERA Elects New Board Members And Officers

David Overbeeke, president and CEO, Brake Parts Inc, was elected as the new MERA chairman, assuming responsibilities from Peter Butterfield, chairman and CEO, Omega Environmental Technologies.

MERA – The Remanufacturing Association has announced governance changes and additions to its board of directors.

David Overbeeke, president and CEO, Brake Parts Inc, was elected as the new MERA chairman. Overbeeke is charged with steering MERA initiatives and enhancing member value in 2018, while also positioning the association for future growth. As a former vice chairman of MERA, Overbeeke assumes responsibilities from Peter Butterfield, chairman and CEO, Omega Environmental Technologies. Butterfield served as MERA chairman for two years, from 2016 through 2017, and will remain on the MERA board and as a member of its executive committee.

“I am joined by the entire MERA community in thanking Peter Butterfield for his commitment and service to the remanufacturing industry as MERA chairman for the past two years,” said John Chalifoux, president and chief operating officer, MERA. “Under Peter’s leadership, the association successfully launched the Manufactured Again Certification program, issued an industry-first publication on the accounting of cores, protected remanufacturing from harmful legislative and regulatory efforts, and expanded its services to all remanufacturing sectors. We value Peter’s service and look forward to working with David Overbeeke to build on our recent successes.”

MERA also elected two long-serving board members to its executive committee: Sanjiv Khurana, president, Detroit Diesel Remanufacturing; and Andreea Raaber, vice president, business development, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems. Khurana and Raaber take on key duties in shaping the future of MERA.

In addition, the association welcomes three well-respected industry leaders to the MERA board of directors, each with terms and responsibilities starting in January 2018. The new directors are: Justin Greenberg, CEO, DieselCore; David Olsen, CEO, Transaxle; and, Russ Schinzing, president, Electronics Remanufacturing Co. Each industry veteran brings valuable experience to the MERA board of directors, including varied backgrounds in core supply, heavy equipment remanufacturing and electronic component remanufacturing, respectively.

“Along with congratulating Sanjiv Khurana and Andreea Raaber on their election to the MERA executive committee, I believe our newest directors will help usher in a new era for MERA,” said Chalifoux. “It is an exciting time for the remanufacturing industry, and these changes will keep MERA well-positioned to advance the business interests of our members.”

The remainder of the MERA board of directors is comprised of: Michael Cardone III, executive chairman, CARDONE Industries Inc.; John Chalifoux, president and chief operating officer, MERA; Steve Handschuh, president and CEO, MEMA; Selwyn Joffe, chairman, president and CEO, Motorcar Parts of America Inc.; Woody Knopf, CEO, Knopf Automotive; Enrico Manuele, regional vice president, automotive aftermarket, Robert Bosch; Scott Miller, vice president, remanufacturing, LKQ Corp.; Paul Schuck, managing director, Undercar Express; and, Shawn Zwicker, global operations leader, remanufacturing, Cummins Inc.

You May Also Like

Bosch Mobility Names President of Americas Region

Paul Thomas will assume the new role in January 2024.

Bosch announced a new regional board to oversee its mobility business in North and South America, led by Paul Thomas as president of the Americas for Bosch Mobility.

Beginning January 2024, Thomas will step into the new role of president, Americas and lead the Bosch Mobility Americas regional board. Thomas will oversee technology, strategy, and sales for the Americas region.

ASE Partners with Bogi Lateiner

Lateiner will help the ASE Education Foundation pursue its goal of increasing diversity in the industry.

Hot Shot’s Secret Shares Takeaways from SEMA Training

Josh Steinmetz shares insights from the SEMA Future Leaders Network professional development training event.

ATMC Training Benchmarks Survey Results Unveiled

The ATMC training benchmarks survey is conducted annually within the automotive and heavy-duty vehicle service and repair industry.

SEMA Announces Hall of Fame Inductees

Steve Ames, John Iannotte and Mitch Williams are being honored as automotive industry trailblazers.

Other Posts

CW Bearing U.S.A. Inc. Poised to Enter N.A. Aftermarket

CW Bearing, a subsidiary of the Cixing Group, was founded in 1984 by Hu Xiangenon on China’s eastern coast.

GPC’s Kevin Herron to Retire; Randy Breaux Promoted

Herron (left), president, U.S. Automotive Group, retires at the end of 2023 after a distinguished 34-year career with GPC.

KYB Names New Product Manager

Guna Sathyamurthy was promoted.

Beth Skove Joins AACF Board of Trustees

Skove brings more than 30 years of sales and marketing experience in the automotive aftermarket.