James McElya of Cooper Standard Elected 2008-2009 MEMA Chairman - aftermarketNews

James McElya of Cooper Standard Elected 2008-2009 MEMA Chairman

McElya has more than 30 years of automotive experience.

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – James McElya, executive chairman of Cooper-Standard Automotive in Novi, Mich., has been elected 2008-2009 chairman of the Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA) Board of Directors.

McElya served chief executive officer of Cooper-Standard Automotive from December 2004 through June 2008. Prior to this, McElya had been a corporate vice president of Cooper Tire & Rubber Co., which was the parent company of Cooper-Standard Automotive until 2004.

McElya has more than 30 years of automotive experience and was previously president of Siebe Automotive Worldwide, a division of Invensys, PLC. He spent 22 years with Handy & Harman in various executive management positions, including president, Handy & Harman Automotive, and corporate vice president and officer of the parent company.

In addition to his involvement with MEMA and the Original Equipment Suppliers Association (OESA), McElya has served as a board member of the Rubber Manufacturers Association (RMA) and an advisor to the National Alliance for Accessible Golf (NAAG).

Other MEMA board officers include:
• Vice chairman – Terry McCormack, CEO, president and director, Affinia Group
• Vice chairman – Gordon Ulsh, president, CEO and director of Exide Technologies
• Treasurer – Eugene Ezzell, president, Mikronite Automotive Technologies

Charles “Charley” Johnson, president, CEO and director of Proliance International Inc., will remain on the board as immediate past chairman.

New members of the board are:
• John Corey, president and CEO, Stoneridge Inc.
• Dennis Michaels, president and CEO, Link Manufacturing Inc.
• Peter Morse, president, Morse Automotive Corp.
• Tom Ward, president, Snap-on Tools

Directors continuing to serve on the board include:
• Robert Devenney, senior vice president, Danaher Corp., Professional Tool Group
• Joseph McAleese, president and CEO, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems and HDMA chairman
• Robert “Bob” McKenna, president and CEO of MEMA
• Alfred “Al” Stecklein, president, Schrader and Plews, Tomkins Plc.
• James Orchard, CEO, Dayco Products – Mark IV Auto
• Francisco “Frank” Ordonez, president, Delphi Product and Service Solutions and vice president, Delphi Corp

You May Also Like

Driven Brands Names Chief Operating Officer

Company appoints Danny Rivera to the newly created role and welcomes back Mo Khalid, who will succeed Rivera.

Driven Brands Holdings Inc has announced the appointment of Danny Rivera to the newly created role of chief operating officer effective February 20, 2023, reporting to chief executive officer Jonathan Fitzpatrick. Driven Brands is also pleased to welcome back Mo Khalid, who will succeed Rivera in the role of executive vice president & group president, maintenance, leading both Take 5 Quick Lube and Meineke. 

Dayco Recruits Craig Frohock as its New Aftermarket/Belt CEO

Frohock is responsible for the business unit’s global operational performance and strategic direction. 

Lucas Oil Promotes, Adds Key Staff to Leadership Team

Jason Bonikowske has been named general counsel, and Nicole York and Megan Burakiewicz have been promoted to VP roles.

Clarios Names New Group VP and GM, Original Equipment

Federico Morales-Zimmermann joins Clarios from BorgWarner, where he served in two VP roles.

Edelbrock’s Smitty Smith Passes Away

According to a blog post from Edelbrock, Smitty worked for the company for 30 years and had been using its products for 50.

Other Posts

Navistar Names Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer

Tobias Glitterstam will be the steward for strategy implementation and he will accelerate sustainability efforts.

FullSpeed Automotive Names VP of Ops for Grease Monkey Brand

Brian Michel steps into this leadership role having worked for FullSpeed for 10 years.

NuVinAir Promotes Marty Schoenthaler to President

Schoenthaler joined NuVinAir from Tate Boys Tire & Service in 2021.

Velocity Modern Classics Names Chief Revenue Officer

Tom Maxwell joins the company with over seven years of experience in the custom vehicle space.