I-CAR Education Foundation Announces 2009 Board of Trustees - aftermarketNews

I-CAR Education Foundation Announces 2009 Board of Trustees

Seven collision industry veterans named to Executive Committee.

HOFFMAN ESTATES, Ill. – The I-CAR Education Foundation has announced its slate of Trustees and Executive Committee for 2009. The I-CAR Education Foundation is honored to have the following representatives on the Executive Committee:

·    Chairman, Chris Evans — State Farm Insurance;
·    Vice Chairman, Doug Webb — CSi Complete;
·    Secretary, Bill Daly — Allstate Insurance Co.;
·    Treasurer, Chris Northup;
·    Member-At-Large, Steve Seidner — Seidner’s Collision Centers;
·    Member-At-Large, Terry Fortner — Nationwide Insurance; and
·    Immediate Past Chairman, Clark Plucinski, True2Form Collision Repair Centers.

In addition to the Executive Committee, the Foundation Board of Trustees consists of:

·    Mark Algie – 3M Co.;
·    Joseph Allen – CCC Information Services Inc.;
·    Terry Angell – Warren Tech;
·    Guy Bargnes – BASF;
·    Mary Knapp – Dennis Technical Education Center;
·    Geralynn Kottschade – Jerry’s Body Shop Inc.;
·    Tim O’Day – Gerber Collision & Glass;
·    John Saia – Toyota Motor Sales USA Inc.;
·    Greg Settle – Mercedes-Benz;
·    Roland Taube – International Representative; and
·    John Ward – Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

Trustee Emeriti consist of:
·    J. Laurence Costin – CCC Information Services Inc.;
·    Lirel Holt;
·    Frank McGiboney;
·    Chuck Sulkala – Acme Body and Paint Inc; and
·    the late Russell Verona – East Rockford Collision Center.

“The Education Foundation has proven its unique ability to stimulate and support education in the collision repair industry,” said Chris Evans, chairman of the I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees. “Last year we launched our first annual $100,000 effort of supporting students through Education Foundation scholarships, grants of curriculum to Career and Technical Schools and Colleges (CTSC) and continuing education for CTSC instructors. We believe it’s possible to illustrate to others that by getting involved and supporting the Education Foundation we can benefit the industry and our businesses directly.”

“Last year, our Board of Trustees took the I-CAR Education Foundation in a bold new direction and Messrs. Allen and O’Day and Ms. Knapp bring a wealth of knowledge and leadership to help guide us down this path,” said Scott Kruger, I-CAR Education Foundation executive director. “As we move to support and strengthen the collision repair education system, I look forward to working with and learning from these three respected professionals.”

“I once again look forward to working with the Board, our wonderfully dedicated staff, and I-CAR to move the organization to the next level. There’s no stopping what the Education Foundation can do for students and local career and technical schools and colleges,” concluded Evans.

You May Also Like

Mullen Announces Key Hires Across EV Programs

The new hires will support commercial and consumer vehicle programs in development, manufacturing and commercial sales.

Emerging electric vehicle manufacturer Mullen Automotive, Inc. announced a number of new hires who have joined the company across its commercial van and truck program and Mullen FIVE EV Crossover programs in support of aggressive EV portfolio growth plans.

Mullen Automotive says the new hires will be working across Mullen’s different facilities, including the Commercial Vehicle Team in Troy, Michigan; the Consumer Vehicle Team in Irvine, California; the Powertrain and Battery Group in Monrovia, California; the Manufacturing Plant in Tunica, Mississippi; and the Mishawka, Indiana factory.

Rare Vehicle Painted with BASF Paint Receives Award

As one out of only 108 GTO Judge convertibles produced in 1969, the vehicle has had the same owner since 1970.

CAPA Approves Magneti Marelli for Tier 1 Verification Program

CAPA developed this verification program to expand its offering and brand to Tier 1 replacement parts providers & suppliers.

Auto Glass Safety Standard Updated

Revision focuses on calibration on ADAS-equipped vehicles.

IIHS Updates Crash Tests to Close Safety Gap

The test updates address a growing gap in the protection provided for front and rear vehicle occupants.

Other Posts

Driven Brands Names Chief Operating Officer

Company appoints Danny Rivera to the newly created role and welcomes back Mo Khalid, who will succeed Rivera.

Dayco Recruits Craig Frohock as its New Aftermarket/Belt CEO

Frohock is responsible for the business unit’s global operational performance and strategic direction. 

Lucas Oil Promotes, Adds Key Staff to Leadership Team

Jason Bonikowske has been named general counsel, and Nicole York and Megan Burakiewicz have been promoted to VP roles.

Clarios Names New Group VP and GM, Original Equipment

Federico Morales-Zimmermann joins Clarios from BorgWarner, where he served in two VP roles.