Bendix Celebrates Safety, Quality and Efficiency 'STARS'

Bendix Celebrates Safety, Quality and Efficiency ‘STARS’

Winners in the annual awards program represented Bendix facilities in Acuña, Mexico; Avon, Ohio; Bowling Green; Hanover, Pennsylvania; Huntington, Indiana; and Monterrey, Mexico.

Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems LLC (Bendix) employees from across its North American locations came together to recognize teams and individuals who are helping improve workplace safety, environmental conditions, production quality and manufacturing efficiency. The honorees, who embody the company’s commitment to drive improvements in its operations, the company said, gathered in Bowling Green, Kentucky, home of the company’s wheel-end manufacturing operation.

Winners in the annual award program represented Bendix facilities in Acuña, Mexico; Avon, Ohio; Bowling Green; Hanover, Pennsylvania, where Bendix subsidiary R.H. Sheppard Co., Inc. operates; Huntington, Indiana; and Monterrey, Mexico. Bendix honored three groups and 22 individuals for their commitment to continuous improvement in 2023 as part of the company’s Knorr Production System (KPS). In addition to their dedication to continuous improvement, these team members personify Bendix’s all-encompassing drive to help improve commercial vehicle and highway safety, the company said.

This year marked the 11th installment of the annual recognition program, which has expanded in scope to honor more employees and their devotion to continuously improving Bendix’s work environment at all levels.

KPS award categories consisted of Safety STARS (Safety Top Achievement Recognition System), Environmental, Best Quick Kaizen, Most Quick Kaizens, and KPS Outstanding Contributor.

Award winners were:

  • Safety STARS Teams: Machining P1, Acuña; FDB Assembly Benches, 1st Shift, Bowling Green; Shipping Fast Break, 2nd Shift, Huntington
  • Environmental: Jorge Moreno, Raul Ramirez, and Enrique Chavez, Acuña; Himanshu Pandya, Bowling Green; Randy Brown, Huntington; Mark Matko, Avon
  • Best Quick Kaizen: Sergio Segura, Acuña; Paulo Leal, Monterrey; Himanshu Pandya, Bowling Green; Rob Snow, Huntington; David Leatherman, R.H. Sheppard; Phillip Kasper and Justin Turner, Avon
  • Most Quick Kaizens: Yolanda Flota, Acuña; Carlos Zavala, Monterrey; Lisa Eldridge, Bowling Green; Linda Bowman, Huntington; Trudy Mays, R.H. Sheppard; Stephen Mitchell, Avon
  • KPS Outstanding Contributor: Oscar Llano, Acuña; Mitchell Bratcher, Bowling Green; Ben Maylin, Huntington; Christy Racine, R.H. Sheppard

“We launched KPS at Bendix in 2012 to pursue a shared vision, embracing a ‘one-plant approach’ to steer us toward operational excellence,” said Piotr Sroka, Bendix chief executive office, president, and chief operating officer. “Since then, countless individuals have dedicated themselves to the vision, bringing forth their talents, ideas, and hard work to ensure our collective safety and enhance our environment, processes, workstations, and production lines. The recognition program is a special way to celebrate the people who lead the way. They bring the KPS spirit to life and help motivate everyone as we build momentum for the future.”

All Bendix manufacturing operations are committed to the KPS quality, productivity, and continuous improvement culture, practiced worldwide throughout the Munich, Germany-based Knorr-Bremse, of which Bendix is a member, the company said.

A key aspect of the KPS philosophy is encouraging and empowering employees to recognize potential problems, then develop and help implement their own suggestions for quality improvements, according to Bendix. These employee-driven changes are what help define a Quick Kaizen environment where people and teams proactively seek to improve manufacturing. In 2023, Bendix team members identified and implemented more than 22,000 ideas – among the most ever since Bendix put Quick Kaizens into operation in 2013. Of those 22,000 Quick Kaizens, Bendix said it implemented nearly 20,000.

“The accomplishments celebrated in the KPS awards bring Bendix closer to major company safety goals such as zero injuries, climate goals like zero waste, and operational goals on quality and productivity,” said Fabio Nakai, Bendix director, operations excellence. “Day after day, our people and our teams bring their best selves to the job in the name of continuous improvement and operational excellence.”

You May Also Like

Valvoline Named 11-Time Winner of ATD’s Best of the BEST

The company announced its U.S. quick lube service brand was honored with an Association for Talent Development Best of the BEST Award.

Valvoline Instant Oil Change building

Valvoline announced that its U.S. quick lube service brand Valvoline Instant Oil Change has been named an 11-time winner of the Association for Talent Development (ATD) Best of the BEST Award.

This year, 79 organizations from around the globe were honored with BEST Awards including eight companies named Best of the BEST for being a 10-time or more winner, Valvoline said.

BCA Honored with ACPN Content Excellence Award

The award was announced at the 2024 Auto Care Connect/ACPN Annual Conference, held recently in Chicago.

BCA Honored with ACPN 2024 Content Excellence Award
Meineke Names Advance Professional ‘Vendor of the Year’

The MDPCI Vendor of the Year is determined based on a number of factors, with one being survey results from the Meineke dealer group.

Meineke Vendor of the Year
DENSO Announces ‘Business Partner of the Year’ Winners

More than a dozen suppliers were recognized for ‘excellent contributions’ to DENSO quality, service, sustainability, diversity and value in 2023, the company said.

AutoZone Vendor Summit Recognizes Top Suppliers

The awards honor companies that provided exceptional performance and demonstrated a strong commitment to customer satisfaction during the past year, the company said.

Other Posts
Brembo Wins the 2024 A’Design Award

This recognition underlines the design of Brembo’s products and the company’s commitment to bringing innovation to the mobility of tomorrow, Brembo said.

Brembo Caliper
SMP Certified as a Most Loved Workplace

Most Loved Workplaces certifies companies where employees are the happiest and most satisfied at work based on its scores on the Love of Workplace Index.

Zum EV’s Prakash Named 2024 Innovator of the Year

Dr. Pallav Prakash will receive the honor from Student Transportation News on July 14 in Reno, Nevada.

Zum EV's Prakash Named 2024 Innovator of the Year
MEMA Seeks Nominations for 2024 DEI Awards

The awards will be presented at AAPEX in Las Vegas on November 6.

MEMA Seeks Nominations for 2024 DEI Awards