AWDA Introduces Rusty Bishop as its 2008-2009 Chairman and Other Officers - aftermarketNews

AWDA Introduces Rusty Bishop as its 2008-2009 Chairman and Other Officers

A Waynesboro, Va. resident, Bishop began his career in the aftermarket more than 38 years ago with Fisher Auto Parts.

Longtime automotive aftermarket leader and Federated Auto Parts CEO Rusty Bishop was named 2008-2009 chairman of the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) on Nov. 2 during the AWDA Annual Business Conference in Las Vegas.

A Waynesboro, Va. resident, Bishop began his career in the aftermarket more than 38 years ago with Fisher Auto Parts. During his time at Fisher, he worked in warehouse and store management, and served as a director of the company. In 1985, Bishop co-founded Federated Auto Parts with the late Art Fisher, serving today as its CEO. 

Bishop has served the automotive aftermarket industry in many leadership roles, including board member of the Automotive Service Industry Association (ASIA), chairman of AWDA’s Membership and Marketing Committees, governor on AWDA’s Board and most recently as AWDA vice chairman. He is a member of the University of the Aftermarket Board of Trustees and, in 2007, was a presenting panelist at the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS). Bishop earned his AAP designation in 2008 and was honored by Northwood University with the prestigious Automotive Aftermarket Education Award during AAPEX 2008 in Las Vegas.

“I have spent my entire career in the automotive aftermarket with both Fisher and Federated Auto Parts and am truly honored to serve as chairman of AWDA,” said Bishop. “Both Fisher and Federated have always taken an active leadership role in the automotive aftermarket and we plan on continuing that role well into the future.”

Joining Bishop in AWDA’s top leadership positions are:
Vice Chairman, Willi Alexander, regional vice president, Uni-Select USA, Roanoke, Va.;
Secretary, David T. Segal, AAP, Automotive Supply Associates Inc., Concord, N.H.; and
Treasurer, Timothy A. Lee, AAP, chairman, Lang Distribution, Kankakee, Ill.

New AWDA Governors Added to the Board

In addition to its new officers, AWDA also welcomed several new members to its Board of Governors:

• Don Bickle, Jr., president, Warehouse Inc., Hays, Kan.
• Scott Grill, vice president and chief purchasing officer, Auto-Wares Inc., Grand Rapids, Mich.
• Todd Hack, senior vice president, CARQUEST Corp., Raleigh, N.C.
• Scott LeProhon, senior vice president, NAPA Headquarters, Atlanta, Ga.
• John Quirk, president and CEO, VIP Inc., Lewiston, Maine

AWDA thanks the departing Governors for their dedicated service on the Board:
• Richard Beirne, AAP, United Auto Supply, LaCrosse, Wis.
• J. Richard Fairbanks, Jr., Orleans Auto Supply Inc., Hyannis, Mass. 
• Robert J. Blair, CARQUEST Corp., Raleigh, N.C. 
• Robert Susor, NAPA Headquarters, Atlanta, Ga.
• John Washbish, AAP, Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, San Antonio, Texas
• Douglas Washbish, AAP, Moog Louisville Warehouse, Louisville, Ky.

You May Also Like

Lucas Oil Promotes, Adds Key Staff to Leadership Team

Jason Bonikowske has been named general counsel, and Nicole York and Megan Burakiewicz have been promoted to VP roles.

Lucas Oil Products has announced three new additions to its leadership team, hiring Jason Bonikowske as general counsel and promoting Nicole York to vice president of finance and Megan Burakiewicz to vice president of human resources.

Prior to joining Lucas Oil, Bonikowske spent 16 years at CSM Sport and Entertainment (formerly JMI), where he oversaw the legal operations, developed internal governance policies, advised executives on risk mitigation, and routinely negotiated high-quality sport and entertainment agreements. 

Clarios Names New Group VP and GM, Original Equipment

Federico Morales-Zimmermann joins Clarios from BorgWarner, where he served in two VP roles.

Edelbrock’s Smitty Smith Passes Away

According to a blog post from Edelbrock, Smitty worked for the company for 30 years and had been using its products for 50.

Navistar Names Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer

Tobias Glitterstam will be the steward for strategy implementation and he will accelerate sustainability efforts.

FullSpeed Automotive Names VP of Ops for Grease Monkey Brand

Brian Michel steps into this leadership role having worked for FullSpeed for 10 years.

Other Posts

NuVinAir Promotes Marty Schoenthaler to President

Schoenthaler joined NuVinAir from Tate Boys Tire & Service in 2021.

Velocity Modern Classics Names Chief Revenue Officer

Tom Maxwell joins the company with over seven years of experience in the custom vehicle space.

MEMA Names New DEI Head, Renews DEI Focus

April Buford will help provide a roadmap to assist members in engaging in their own DEI journey.

MEMA Names Executive Director of Strategy and Research

Mike Jackson’s expanded role will support all segments of MEMA, including the OE, aftermarket, remanufacturing, commercial vehicle and government affairs.