ASTA Announces Retirement of Industry Veteran Reece Hester

ASTA Announces Retirement of Industry Veteran Reece Hester

In celebration of Hester’s 45-year career in the automotive and tire industry, ASTA raised $37,000 to establish the Reece Hester ASTA Strive for Excellence Scholarship.

The Automotive Service and Tire Alliance (ASTA) announced it celebrated Reece Hester’s 45-year career in the automotive and tire industry by raising $37,000 to establish the Reece Hester ASTA Strive for Excellence Scholarship. A retirement dinner was held on November 10, 2022, at Winston’s Grille in Raleigh where a group of 50 colleagues and friends spent the night sharing stories, laughs and memories.

Over the past 45 years, in addition to being a tire dealer, Hester spent the last 17 years as director of the NCTDA, and most recently as associate executive director of the ASTA.

“We made real progress in the establishment of The Reece Hester ASTA Strive for Excellence Scholarship as a testimony to Reece’s impact on the tire and automotive industry,” said Marc Pons, board president of the ASTA. “This endowed scholarship will be awarded to Wake Tech Automotive Technologies students. The ASTA hopes to identify students with exceptional talent, support the next generation of leaders in the aftermarket automotive industry, and shine a light on the important contributions that independent tire and auto service businesses bring to their communities. This scholarship embodies Reece’s desire to better the tire and automotive industry along with his commitment to excellence.”

Donations can be made by visiting

Or, check donations can be mailed to:

Wake Tech Foundation, Attn: Sara Holmes, 9101 Fayetteville Road, Raleigh, NC 27603

You May Also Like

Driven Brands Names Chief Operating Officer

Company appoints Danny Rivera to the newly created role and welcomes back Mo Khalid, who will succeed Rivera.

Driven Brands Holdings Inc has announced the appointment of Danny Rivera to the newly created role of chief operating officer effective February 20, 2023, reporting to chief executive officer Jonathan Fitzpatrick. Driven Brands is also pleased to welcome back Mo Khalid, who will succeed Rivera in the role of executive vice president & group president, maintenance, leading both Take 5 Quick Lube and Meineke. 

Dayco Recruits Craig Frohock as its New Aftermarket/Belt CEO

Frohock is responsible for the business unit’s global operational performance and strategic direction. 

Lucas Oil Promotes, Adds Key Staff to Leadership Team

Jason Bonikowske has been named general counsel, and Nicole York and Megan Burakiewicz have been promoted to VP roles.

Clarios Names New Group VP and GM, Original Equipment

Federico Morales-Zimmermann joins Clarios from BorgWarner, where he served in two VP roles.

Edelbrock’s Smitty Smith Passes Away

According to a blog post from Edelbrock, Smitty worked for the company for 30 years and had been using its products for 50.

Other Posts

Mitchell 1 Automotive Technology Scholarship Now Open

The recipient will receive a $2,500 scholarship, as well as cash and airfare/accommodations to attend the NACAT conference.

Apply Now for Federated Car Care Scholarships 

The deadline to apply is March 31.

Nominations Open For 2023 FutureTechs Rock Awards

Ten students will receive this national honor from TechForce Foundation.

Apply for Automotive, Heavy-Duty Scholarships by March 31

Hundreds of scholarships will be awarded for 2023-24.