AASA Individual Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award Winner Named

AASA Names Individual DEI Award Winner

The award recognizes an aftermarket leader who supports and represents the core values of diversity, equity & inclusion. 

NGK Spark Plugs’ Franchelle Thomas, director of culture, communication and people, has been named the recipient of the 2022 AASA Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Individual (DEI) Award. This award annually recognizes an influential leader in the automotive aftermarket who supports and represents the core values of diversity, equity & inclusion (DEI). 

Created to recognize the importance of DEI in the automotive aftermarket and to celebrate those individuals and organizations who champion the spirit of DEI in the organizations and communities, the award recognizes those who meet the following qualifications: Influential leader in the automotive aftermarket, inspires others in the industry and future generations of industry leaders, supports, advances, and/or embodies core values of diversity, equity, and inclusion, advanced and advocated DEI within the industry and/or within their organization, works collaboratively with others to achieve DEI objectives in the automotive aftermarket setting and encourages positive outcomes as part of larger solutions. 

“We are proud to announce the annual AASA Individual DEI award, with the purpose of recognizing an influential leader in the automotive aftermarket that supports and represents the core values of diversity, equity, & inclusion,” said Ben Brucato, vice president of engagement for AASA. “Franchelle embodies the spirit of this award, challenging our industry to be forward-thinking and retaining and attracting talent from all backgrounds and walks of life. Her work and dedication to DE&I make our industry stronger and more resilient. We applaud her efforts that affect real change.” 

Thomas is a seasoned human resources professional holding degrees in business administration and management and philosophy. In addition, she has a PHR (professional in human resources) certification granted by the HR Certification Institute and a SHRM-CP (certified professional) certification from the Society for Human Resources Management.

“Throughout her 17-year career at NGK Spark Plugs, Franchelle has demonstrated a high level of commitment and leadership. She has continuously delivered personal and professional excellence, integrity, engagement, and mentoring to the next generation in support of NGK’s business objectives,” said Michael Schwab, NGK’s president & CEO. “We are grateful to have Franchelle as a leader in our organization, upholding our commitment to creating a culture where we treat each associate with dignity and respect, recognize individuality, their value and contributions, and their humanity.” 

Thomas was presented with the award at the AASA Member Awards Ceremony on Nov. 2 at AAPEX.

You May Also Like

Cooper Standard Wins Seraph Operational Excellence Award

Cooper Standard is one of five companies Seraph is celebrating this year.  

Cooper Standard

Cooper Standard's Aguascalientes, Mexico, mixing facility was awarded a Quality Excellence Award during the 2024 Seraph Operational Excellence Awards ceremony.

The Seraph Operational Excellence Awards recognize automotive manufacturing facilities in North America that demonstrate outstanding performance and innovation across five categories. Cooper Standard is one of five companies Seraph is celebrating this year.  

SMP Receives GM’s Supplier Quality Excellence Award

Suppliers who achieve this award have met stringent quality performance criteria and have demonstrated trust and transparency while working toward shared goals.

Valvoline Named 11-Time Winner of ATD’s Best of the BEST

The company announced its U.S. quick lube service brand was honored with an Association for Talent Development Best of the BEST Award.

Valvoline Instant Oil Change building
BCA Honored with ACPN Content Excellence Award

The award was announced at the 2024 Auto Care Connect/ACPN Annual Conference, held recently in Chicago.

BCA Honored with ACPN 2024 Content Excellence Award
Meineke Names Advance Professional ‘Vendor of the Year’

The MDPCI Vendor of the Year is determined based on a number of factors, with one being survey results from the Meineke dealer group.

Meineke Vendor of the Year
Other Posts
DENSO Announces ‘Business Partner of the Year’ Winners

More than a dozen suppliers were recognized for ‘excellent contributions’ to DENSO quality, service, sustainability, diversity and value in 2023, the company said.

AutoZone Vendor Summit Recognizes Top Suppliers

The awards honor companies that provided exceptional performance and demonstrated a strong commitment to customer satisfaction during the past year, the company said.

MEMA Seeks Nominations for 2024 DEI Awards

The awards will be presented at AAPEX in Las Vegas on November 6.

MEMA Seeks Nominations for 2024 DEI Awards
Reynolds and Reynolds Donates $5 Million to Northwood University

The donation will help fund the construction of the new center for automotive and mobility studies at Northwood.

Northwood University $5 million donation